

Slow Procession Hans Ulrik

Stunt Records STUCD 09152



Danish saxophonist Hans Ulrik worked for several years on the repertoire for his new Scandinavian quintet featuring Danish trumpeter Kasper Tranberg, Swedish bassist Anders Jormin, and the two Norwegians guitarist Eivind Aarset and drummer Audun Kleive. When it comes to creative jazz and affiliated styles with a touch of Scandinavia, each of them have been important artists on their own for years. Now they are all together in a Scandinavian super-group. Back in the old days, they would have been called all-stars.

All compositions are Hans Ulrik originals created especially with the group and each individual musician's playing style in mind. This jazz music features extended melodic parts with that special Scandinavian flavor, free-form passages, ragas and ballads. Ulrik draws his inspiration from many different sources: From Burt Bacharach to Carl Nielsen to John Coltrane. This music is free of restraining rules. Imagination is the only limit.

Hans Ulrik is among Europe's busiest and most prominent saxophonists, known for his Scandinavian tone, but also for his great diversity. He is a popular session musician – also in pop and rock – but more than anything else, he is a jazz musician with a long list of collaborators including Cæcilie Norby, Thomas Clausen, Lars Jansson, Gary Peacock, Niels Lan Doky, Marc Johnson, The Danish Radio Big Band and Elaine Elias. Ulrik has several recordings to his name featuring John Scofield, Steve Swallow, Jonas Johansen and Lars Danielsson. Ulrik is also a member of Marilyn Mazur's Future Song.

Cornettist Kasper Tranberg is an extremely active and outstanding musician, bandleader and composer. His reputation reaches far beyond the Danish borders and his original approach, which draws on the entire jazz tradition, is in demand at home and abroad. A long-term member of New Jungle Orchestra and Hugo Rasmussen's All Starz, often heard in collaboration with saxophonist Jakob Dinesen, guitarist Jakob Bro and his own groups including When Granny Sleeps, Thunderstrucks and Bugpowder or with his Japanese buddy, pianist Hiroshi Minami, Tranberg performs and records in his own

name as well with many of the foremost musicians of his generation. He has played with Mercer Ellington, Steve Swallow, Charlie Haden, John Tchicai, David Liebman, Ray Anderson, Marilyn Mazur, Chris Potter, Michael Blake, James Moody, Tim Berne, Django Bates and many others.

Guitarist Eivind Aarset is an original artist from the creative and experimental Norwegian music scene. His recordings have created quite a stir, and reviews in the international jazz press have been overwhelming. His individualistic approach is hard to box in, and thus Aarset has found a central role in what may be called "NOW jazz". Eivind Aarset is a regular member of trumpeter Nils Petter Molvær's group and Marilyn Mazur's Future Song as well as leading his own bands. He appears on more than 150 recordings with artists as diverse as Ray Charles, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Ute Lemper, Ketil Bjornstad, Mike Mainieri, Arild Andersen, Abraham Laboriel and Django Bates.

Swedish bassist Anders Jormin is a virtuosic and internationally highly respected artist. He has recorded and toured with many jazz legends including Gilberto Gil, Lee Konitz, Elvin Jones, Joe Henderson, Don Cherry, Charles Lloyd, Mike Mainieri, Joe Lovano, Albert Mangelsdorff, Tomasz Stanko, Dino Saluzzi, John Surman, John Taylor, Mark Feldman and Paul Motian. These days, he is a member of Bobo Stenson's trio – and Hans Ulrik's groundbreaking group. He appears on countless recordings including 9 in his own name, and he is currently signed to the prestigious ECM label.

Drummer Audun Klieve is among the top Norwegian musicians. Held in high esteem, his extremely musical work on drums and percussion has made him a dynamo in Norwegian and international jazz, and he has played with Bugge Wesseltoft, Sidsel Endresen, Jon Balke, Kurt Rissnæs and Terje Rypdal. He is also a member of Marilyn Mazur's Future Song. He contributes his integrity and high level of musicianship to more than 60 recordings with Terje Rypdal, Jon Balke, Charles Lloyd, Marilyn Mazur and many others.

The Beginning – All Things Shine / Slow Procession / Before / Make Rain / The Wanderer / Companionship / After /Oasis.

Hans Ulrik (ts), Kasper Tranberg (tp), Eivind Aarset (g), Anders Jormin (b), Audun Kleive (d).

Please download high definition promo photos at www.dennislynge.dk/clients/sundance/hansulrik

