

Klüver's Big Band Jesper Thilo & Dennis Mackrel HOT HOUSE

Stunt Records STUCD 08062

Jesper Thilo is at the height of his powers. No doubt about it, and there was a great eagerness to present him with Klüver's Big Band. Drummer and arranger Dennis Mackrel's credentials include seats in Count Basie's Band, Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Orchestra, Carla Bley's Very Large Big Band, Dizzie Gillespie's Orchestra and The McCoy Tyner Big Band, and he has worked with Harry Connick Jr., Lionel Hampton, Tony Bennett, Joe Williams, Nancy Wilson and Quincy Jones. Over the years, he has often played with Klüver's Big Band, and his ability of controlling a large orchestra from his seat behind the drums is legendary. On 'Hot House' he not only solos, he also wrote the arrangements. This is top-notch music!

"Klüver's Big Band is not only one of the world's best big bands, the atmosphere in the band, and the musicians' dedication is so contagious, that I feel like I play better, when I play with them. And Jesper Thilo is a masterful musician with great musical maturity." **Dennis Mackrel**

"This is the best of the best. Usually, when I work in other constellations than my own groups, they just put the notes in front of you, and you play. But here we rehearsed and discussed what we wanted to achieve and how to do it. So this is a very solid recording that I am very proud of." Jesper Thilo

This Can't Be Love / In A Mellow Tone / Sweet Lorraine / Hot House / Things Ain't What They Used To Be / Bye Bye Blackbird / In A Sentimental Mood / Just One Of Those Things / Drum intro / Lester Leaps In / Lester Leaps In / Don't Get Around Much Anymore

Jesper Thilo (ts), Dennis Mackrel (dr), Søren Bo Addemos (g), Mads Bærentzen (p), Morten Ramsbøl (b) Saxophones: Niels Lyhne Løkkegaard: alto, soprano, flute, Jimmi Riise: alto, flute, Claus Waidtløw: tenor, clarinet, Michael S. Olsen: tenor, clarinet, Finn H. Henriksen: baritone, bassclarinet Trumpets: Henrik Hou Feddersen, Jan Lynggaard Sørensen, Søren "Phille" Jensen, Lars Vissing Trombones: Nikolai Bøgelund Pedersen, Storm Kleist, Stefan Ringive, Niels Jacob Nørgaard

